About The Group

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of HASSEG was formed as a core group of experts in January 2010 and was then expanded over time to ensure a wide geographical and disciplinary representation. This core group assumes the role of a steering group and provides the strategic direction for HASSEG. It is also the first point of contact for any official communication from SCAR and other bodies. The leadership of the group is being kept dynamic. Dr Gary Steel acted as co-chair from 2010 to 2012, and was followed by Ass. Prof. Juan Francisco Salazar, who was elected as a co-chair from 2012-2014. Ass. Prof. Elizabeth Leane and Dr Daniela Liggett are the current co-chairs.  
Dr Sanjay Chaturvedi (ex officio) (IN) Geopolitics
Dr Alan Hemmings (AU/NZ/UK) Polar Governance and Policy
Hanne Nielsen (AU/NZ) Literary and Cultural Studies
Ass. Prof. Elizabeth Leane (Co-Chair) (AU) Literature (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Daniela Liggett (Co-Chair) (NZ/DE) Environmental Management/Tourism
Dr Cristian Lorenzo (AR) International Relations
Dr Jessica O’Reilly (USA) Anthropology
Ass. Prof. Juan Francisco Salazar (AU/CL) Anthropology,  Cultural/Media Studies
Prof Akiho Shibata (JP) Law
Dr Gary Steel (ex officio) (NZ/CA) Psychology
Note: Country codes in parentheses above indicate the country of residence followed by, where different, the country of origin. AR – Argentina; AU – Australia; CA – Canada; CL – Chile; DE – Germany; IN – India; JP – Japan; NL – The Netherlands; UK – United Kingdom; US – USA

Expert Members

Work on the project “Values in Antarctica” brings together the breadth of polar social science and humanities research. Our member directory is currently under construction. Research contributions and cooperation are sought from polar researchers with an interest in this topic. If you would like to get involved in the Humanities and Social Sciences Expert Group, please get in touch.