Polar Governance Workshop: Polar Governance in Action

The British Antarctic Survey, along with the University of Leeds and Royal Holloway, University of London, invites you for its second Polar Governance Workshop: Polar Governance in Action: balancing multiple interests and values in the management of Arctic and Antarctic tourism.

The workshop will take place on the 24th April 2018 – from 10:00 to 16:00 at the Royal Geographical Society, located at 1 Kensington Gore, Kensington, London, SW7 2AR

At this event, experts from policy and academic communities will discuss and analyse the current cultural, political, commercial and environmental challenges and opportunities associated with the governance of Arctic and Antarctic and its associated tourism activities. Our aim is to promote a space for discussion and networking, gathering different perspectives from the governance of the Polar regions which will contribute to inform industry, communal and political management and public understanding of polar tourism.

In order to attend, please register at the link https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/polar-governance-in-action-tickets-42123300927 .


  • *Registration and refreshments (9:30)
  • *Opening talk 10:00-10:30 (10 minutes for discussions) Jane Rumble, Head of the Polar Regions Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
  • *Morning: Antarctic Tourism 10:30-13.00 (20 minutes for discussions) Prof. Adrian Howkins, Reader in Environmental History, University of Bristol
  • Dr. Damon Stanwell-Smith (Executive Director) /Amanda Lynnes, (Head of Communications and Environment) International Association of Antarctic Tour Operators (IAATO)
    • Break (10 minutes)
  • Dr. Kim Crosbie, Noble Caledonia Limited / Salen Ship Management
  • Camilla Nichols, Chief Executive of the United Kingdom Antarctic Heritage Trust
    • *Lunch 13.00-14.00 (During lunchtime attendees are welcome to view a specially curated display of the Society’s Collections on the Polar regions)
  • *Afternoon: Arctic Tourism 14.00-15.20 (20 minutes for discussions)
  • Frigg Jørgensen, Executive Director of the Association of Arctic Expedition Cruise Operators (EACO)
  • Henry Burgess, Head of NERC Arctic Office
  • Prof. James Ford, Priestley Chair in Climate Adaptation, University of Leeds
    • *Tea 15:20-15.40
  • Conclusion 15:40-16:00 Prof. Klaus Dodds, Department of Geography, Royal Holloway University of London
  • For further information, please contact d.portellasampaio@leeds.ac.uk.
With best wishes,

The organisers: Jane Francis (British Antarctic Survey) James Van Alstine (University of Leeds) Klaus Dodds (Royal Holloway University of London) Daniela Portella Sampaio (University of Leeds)